ATLANTA— Today House Governmental Affairs Committee Chairwoman Amy Carter (R-Valdosta) announced five appointees to the DeKalb County Cityhood Subcommittee of the House Governmental Affairs Committee. The following House members were appointed to serve on this subcommittee:

• Rep. Buzz Brockway (R-Lawrenceville), Chair
• Rep. Barry Fleming (R-Harlem)
• Rep. Mark Hamilton (R-Cumming)
• Rep. Howard Mosby (D-Atlanta)
• Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver (D-Decatur)

“At the outset, I was very hopeful that the DeKalb cityhood proponents could come together and agree upon boundaries for the proposed cities. Unfortunately, their efforts failed to result in one, unified map,” said House Governmental Affairs Committee Chair Amy Carter. “I am following through on the pledge to appoint a five person subcommittee of state House members to draw a map for the proposed DeKalb cities after stakeholders couldn’t come to an agreement on their own. This bi-partisan group of Governmental Affairs Committee members will convene a meeting, gather input, draw a map and complete this effort by December 31, 2014. I want to thank the members of this subcommittee in advance for their commitment to seeing this effort through to the end.”

Chairwoman Carter’s initial directions for DeKalb County cityhood boundary line proposals gave DeKalb County cityhood proponents until November 15 to come to a mutual agreement on city boundary lines and submit the agreed upon map bearing three signatures from the authorized signatories to the House Governmental Affairs Committee. Since an agreement was not reached by that date, House Governmental Affairs Committee Chair Amy Carter appointed a panel of these five state House members to carry out the task of drawing city boundaries for the proposed cities. The panel’s sole charge will be to produce a boundary map no later than December 31 by majority vote of the panel.

For more information about the House Governmental Affairs Committee, please click here.



Representative Amy Carter represents the citizens of District 175, which includes portions of Brooks, Lowndes, and Thomas counties. She was elected into the House of Representatives in 2006 and is currently the Chairman of the Governmental Affairs Committee, the Secretary of the Appropriations Committee, and the Ex-Officio of the Ways & Means Committee. She also serves on the Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Education, Higher Education, and the Small Business Development committees.