ATLANTA— House Speaker David Ralston and the Georgia House of Representatives celebrated Thursday, February 20 as Apple Day at the Capitol.  A group of just over 50 people traveled to the capitol, including apple growers, members of the Gilmer County Chamber of Commerce, Ellijay Downtown Development Authority, Gilmer County Economic Development Authority, and current members and past graduates of Leadership Gilmer.  Apple Capitol beauty queens also made the trip, including Junior Apple Queen Shali King, Apple Queen Molly Parks, and Miss Apple Capitol Mary Ashley Tucker.  Minister Butch Jones also attended and served as the Chaplain of the Day in the House.

“It was an honor to celebrate Apple Day with the people of Gilmer County who made the trip to Atlanta,” said House Speaker David Ralston. “I was proud to share the success stories of Gilmer County throughout Apple Day and encouraged all my colleagues in the House to come visit us in North Georgia.”

The Gilmer County group treated members of the House and Senate to fresh apples, fried apple pies, dried apples and other apple products.  The trip to the capitol also included a photograph with Governor Deal, an Apple Day at the Capitol resolution adopted by both the House and Senate, lunch with greetings by Speaker Ralston and Senator Steve Gooch, and a tour of the capitol.

“We want to thank Speaker Ralston and Senator Gooch for their continued support of Gilmer County and the apple industry that is critical to our economy,” said Paige Green, President of the Gilmer County Chamber of Commerce.  “Apples mean so much to us in terms of agriculture, tourism and our heritage. We were honored to join our legislators in celebrating Apple Day at the Capitol.”

A copy of the Apple Day at the Capitol Resolution can be found by clicking here. Photographs of the day’s activities can be found by clicking here.  You can also view the group photograph with Governor Deal by clicking here. 

Representative David Ralston represents the citizens of District 7, which includes Fannin and Gilmer Counties, as well as a portion of Dawson County. He was elected into the House of Representatives in 2002, and currently serves as the House Speaker.